Profil de JonathanDesign by CommitteePhotosBlogListes Outils Aide

Blog


30 octobre

Obfuscated URLs

Even an expert would have to look twice at this phishing URL I received (claiming to be from EBay):

http://signin.ebay.com.ws.eBayISAPI.dll.UsingSSL.Yes.SignIn.siteid.pageType.
copartnerid.aK5Z8dY21qSoLRwOAwX7ejfXWHh71P87nEUrhS1bcPXHQ.wildcat5.com/
~truehome/data/module.dll.php?SignIn=1&co_partnerId=2&siteid=0&ru=&
pp=pass&pageType=708XeMWZllWXS3AlBX&customerid=%TO_EMAIL&VShqAhQRfhgTDrf=
https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn&UsingSSL=1&pUserId=&
co_partnerId=2&siteid=0&ru=&pp=&pageType=708&MfcISAPICommand=
ConfirmRegistration&708XeMWZllWXS3AlBXVShqAhQRfhgTDrfQRfhgTDrfA

How can you tell whether this is a legitimate link or not?  A Web site URL has the form:

http://[site-specific-stuff].[domain].com/[site-specific-stuff]

Check the domain carefully, it's the clue to the true owner of the web site.  Even if it looks good visually you might want to check twice, e.g. http://MICROSOFT.COM and http://MICR0S0FT.COM are not the same (notice the sneaky switch from O's to zeroes?) It's always best to retype the URL to make sure you're going where you think you are.

Stripping out all the officially-cryptic obfuscation from the above link, you can reduce it to:

http://wildcat5.com/~truehome/data/

Does that look like an official EBay URL?  If you don't immediately reject it, you will find that this URL brings you to a fake EBay front-end, asking for your logon details, and I'm sure later on for your credit card number.

I used Internet Explorer 7's Phishing reporting system on this link, and the link it redirects to, for the first time, and can recommend it!  You click on the phishing icon, say you'd like to report the site, and you're taken to a Microsoft site where you can say "I think this site is a Phishing site."  Input a visual/aural code which prevents the phishing filter itself from being spammed, and the data will contribute to the community knowledge base, soon (one hopes) automatically flagging the site as a phisher for users unsavvy enough to have clicked on the link without close examination.

Commentaires

Veuillez patienter...
Le commentaire entré est trop long. Raccourcissez-le.
Vous n'avez rien entré. Réessayez.
Il est actuellement impossible d'ajouter votre commentaire. Réessayez plus tard.
Pour ajouter un commentaire, tu dois avoir l'autorisation de tes parents. Demander l'autorisation
Tes parents ont désactivé les commentaires.
Il est actuellement impossible de supprimer votre commentaire. Réessayez plus tard.
Vous avez dépassé le nombre maximal de commentaires qu'il est possible d'envoyer le même jour. Réessayez dans 24 heures.
Votre compte a pu laisser les commentaires désactivés parce que nos systèmes indiquent que vous risquez d'arroser d'autres utilisateurs de messages. Si vous pensez que votre compte a été désactivé par erreur, contactez l'assistance en ligne de Windows Live.
Effectuez la vérification de sécurité ci-dessous pour finaliser l'envoi de votre commentaire.
Les caractères entrés pour la vérification de sécurité doivent correspondre à ceux de l'image ou du fichier audio.
Jonathan Marsh a désactivé les commentaires dans cette page.

Rétroliens

Blogs Web qui font référence à ce billet
  • Aucune